Gluten Free Candies

Gluten Free Candy List

(The following below is gluten-free)

Popular Brands
• 3 Musketeers
• Hersey’s Milk Chocolate
• Jolly Ranchers
• Laffy Taffy
• Lemonheads
• Life Savers
• M&M’s
• Now & Laters
• Reeses Peanut Butter Cups (NOT seasonal)
• Reeses Pieces
• Skittles
• Snickers
• Sour Patch Kids
• Starbursts
• Sweeties and Smarties (distributed from facility containing wheat)
• Sweetish Fish
• Tootsie Rolls
• Wonka Fun Dip
Hershey’s
• Almond Joy (all except almond joy pieces candy)
• Heath Bars
• Hershey’s Filled Chocolate Kisses (only caramel and cherry cordial creme)
• Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz. size only)
• Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Kisses
• Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45 oz. size only)
• Hershey’s Nuggets (all varieties)
• Mounds
• Payday
• Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (all except for seasonal shaped items)
• Reese’s Pieces Candy (all except egg shaped)
• Rolos (all except minis)
• Skor
• Skor Toffee Bar
• YORK Peppermint Pattie – (All Except YORK PIECES Candy, YORK Minis, and YORK Shapes (5 oz.)
Jelly Belly
All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. “We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans.” The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.
Kraft Foods
The products listed below are the only candies listed as gluten-free from Kraft Foods:
• Sour Patch Kids
• Sour Patch Extreme
• Swedish Fish
Mars Chocolate
Mars Chocolate makes M&M’s, Dove, Snickers and other products. The company no longer maintains a gluten-free list of products; instead, it urges gluten-free consumers to check labels and promises to call out any wheat, barley and rye ingredients by name, as well as any cross-contamination risks, on the label. Even if a product normally is gluten-free, in busy times of year (such as Halloween) Mars uses alternative facilities to make its candy, and some of those facilities may introduce cross-contamination risks (I’ve seen this frequently on flavored M&M varieties). “The ingredient statement on each wrapper is the best source for this information,” the company said in a statement.
In the past, these Mars Chocolate products have been gluten-free. However, I can’t emphasize enough that you should always check the label before purchasing any of these products:
• M&M’s (all EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M’s and some special flavors with a risk of gluten cross-contamination)
• 3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)
• Milky Way Midnight Bar
• Milky Way Caramel Bar
• Dove Chocolate products (all flavors EXCEPT for milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream)
• Snickers Bars (all flavors)
• Munch Nut Bar (the customer service representative urges consumers to check the labels on this one)

The following Mars Chocolate products have NOT been gluten-free:
• M&M Pretzel flavor
• Some packages of M&M White Chocolate, Mint and M&M Coconut flavors
• Milky Way Bar (original)
• Mars Bar
• Mars Combos (a snack mix)
Again, always double-check the label. Note that plain M&Ms (in any color) actually meet the more stringent standards for gluten-free certification, which require the products to contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten.
Nestle
Nestle USA considers “gluten-free” to mean “no gluten ingredients are in the product, whether directly added, or potentially present due to cross-contact. If a product label has an allergen advisory statement such as ‘made on equipment’ or ‘facility that also processes wheat etc.,’ we do not consider that product to be gluten-free. It is important to always read product labels/packaging for the most accurate information.” Nestle will label potential gluten cross contamination, a customer service representative says. In addition, Nestle will disclose all gluten ingredients (not just those containing wheat) on its products’ labels.
According to Nestle, the following candies are gluten-free:
• Baby Ruth
• Bit-O-Honey
• Butterfinger Bar (original flavor only, NOT Crisp, Giant Bar, Snakerz, Medallions, Jingles, Hearts or Pumpkins)
• Milk Chocolate
• Goobers
• Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)
• Oh Henry!
• Raisinets (including Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
• Sno-Caps
• Wonka Pixy Stix
• Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope)
• Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip
The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten-free:
• Butterfinger Crisp Bar
• Butterfinger Giant Bar
• Butterfinger Snackerz
• Butterfinger Medallions
• Butterfinger Jingles
• Butterfinger Hearts
• Butterfinger Pumpkins
• Wonka Nerds
• Sweetarts
• Wonka Bar (all flavors)
• Chewy Spree
• Wonka Gummies
• Wonka Kazoozles
• Everlasting Gobstopper
• 100 Grand Bar
Smarties
Most of Smarties’ line of products (with some exceptions, see below) is considered gluten-free and vegan in the U.S. (see note below for information on Canada), and is made in a gluten-free facility, according to the company. However, Smarties sells its products to different “re-baggers” as well as various retail outlets. Since a re-bagger buys products from many different companies and then places them in different packaging, only re-baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of gluten or other allergens. “If the UPC number on the packaging begins with ‘0 11206,’ you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities,” which means it should be gluten-free,” the company says. Smarties Gummies contain no gluten ingredients, but are manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat-containing products (along with peanuts, milk and soy).
Note that Smarties sold in Canada contain wheat flour — always check the label to make sure you’re buying the gluten-free type.
Tootsie
Tootsie Roll Industries, which also makes Charms products, says that, as of September 2014, all of the companies confections are considered gluten-free with the exception of Andes cookies. “Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process,” the company says.
According to Tootsie Rolls Industries, the following candies are gluten-free:
• Tootsie Rolls
• Fruit Rolls
• Junior Mints
• Frooties
• Dots
• Tropical Dots
• Crows
• Cella’s Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
• Cella’s Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
• Junior Mints
• Charleston Chew
• Junior Caramels
• Tootsie Pops
• Tootsie Peppermint Pops
• Caramel Apple Pops
• Fruit Smoothie Pops
• Tropical Stormz Pops
• Child’s Play
• Charms Blow Pops
• Charms Super Blow Pops
• Charms Pops
• Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
• Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy
• Sugar Daddy Pops
• Sugar Mama Caramels
• Charms Squares
• Charms Sour Balls
• Charms Candy Carnival
• Pops Galore
• Andes
• Sugar Babies
These Tootsie Roll products also are peanut-free and nut-product free, according to the company.
Welches Fruit Snacks
All Welches Fruit Snacks are labeled gluten-free and are a much healthier option instead of candy! Kids will love them too!
Wrigley
Although Wrigley’s online gluten-free statement is pretty cagey (saying most products are gluten-free but some might not be, and failing to specify which is which), a statement provided to me by a customer service representative says that as of October 2013, all Wrigley products in the U.S. are considered gluten-free except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint Mints (which always have contained gluten in the form of wheat maltodextrin).
Note that Wrigley makes Creme Savers, Lifesavers, Skittles and Starburst, which in the U.S. are free of any gluten sources, according to the company.
Contact Wrigley at (800) 974-4539.
Jelly Belly
Jelly Belly makes jelly beans in an ever-expanding array of colors and flavors. According to the company, “all Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free, gelatin-free, vegetarian and OU Kosher.” This includes licorice-flavored gluten-free Jelly Belly jelly beans (in most cases, licorice candy contains wheat). Jelly Belly also makes gluten-free candy corn for Halloween.
However, other Jelly Belly candies, including Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Bridge Mix, Licorice Bridge Mix, Black Licorice Buttons and Licorice Pastels, are NOT gluten-free. In addition, seasonal mixes sold around the holidays contain the malt balls, and so are not gluten-free.
Contact Jelly Belly at 800-522-3267.
Necco
Necco probably is best known for its small sugar Valentine heart candies – the pastel-colored ones that say “Be Mine” and “True Love” – but my daughter’s candy stash often turns up a few Necco products every Halloween, as well.
According to Necco, the following products do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley:
• Necco Wafers
• Necco Chocolate Wafers
• Candy House Candy Buttons
• Canada Mint, Wintergreen and Spearmint Lozenges
• Mary Jane
• Mary Jane Peanutbutter Kisses (available for Halloween only)
• Banana Splits Chews
• Mint Julep Chews
• Haviland Thin Mints, Wintergreen Patty, Nonpareils and Chocolate Stars
• Skybar
• Sweethearts (for Valentine’s Day only)
• Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine’s Day only)
• Mary Jane peanut butter kisses (for Halloween only)
Contact Necco at 781-485-4800.
Just Born
Peeps marshmallow treats, made by Just Born, used to appear only at Easter, but in recent years we’ve seen Halloween Peeps shaped like pumpkins and ghosts, Christmas Peeps in the shape of trees, and heart-shaped Peeps for Valentine’s Day.
According to Just Born, as of September 2014 all the company’s marshmallow candies that are safe from cross-contamination will state “gluten-free” on the package by the ingredients listing (Note: recently, I’ve run across numerous packages of Peeps that carry this warning: “May contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy and wheat.” Definitely double-check the packaging, even if the product is something that has stated “gluten-free” in the past.). The modified food starch used in the products is corn starch, according to the company. Just Born also makes Mike and Ike Candies.
• According to Just Born, the following candies are gluten-free:
• Mike and Ike Berry Blast
• Mike and Ike Italian Ice
• Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
• Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
• Mike and Ike Original Fruits
• Mike and Ike Redrageous
• Mike and Ike Tangy Twister
• Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
• Mike and Ike Zours
• Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
• Mike and Ike Hot Tamales
• Goldenberg’s Vintage Peanut Chews
Contact Just Born at 888-645-3453
Tic Tac Mints
Tic Tac mints are produced by the Italian confection manufacturer Ferrero, and have been sold for more than 40 years.
According to the company, Tic Tac mints do not contain any ingredients derived from the gluten grains wheat, barley, rye, oats or triticale (a form of wheat).
Contact Ferrero at 732-764-9300.
Sweet’s Candy Co.
Sweet’s Candy makes salt water taffy, chocolate jelly sticks, jelly beans, gummy bears and other candies. All are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, which requires products to contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten. A customer service representative tells me that Sweet’s makes only gluten-free products, but does package other products (some of which may contain gluten) in the same facility.
Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge